My Why.

After writing essays and articles on a zillion topics, and reading a hundred biographies and autobiographies, I never imagined that writing about myself would be the most difficult and challenging things to write on. I am the person, who believes that I know myself the best, in and out. Yet, when it came to writing, I found myself pondering over it again and again. Writing and scratching repetitively, never seeming to be fully satisfied with my start. After half an hour, of writing, scratching, and re-writing I faced a white sheet with blue ink all over, yet there was nothing. Painstakingly, after a 10 more minutes of thinking harder than ever, I finally came up with the probably most clichéd sentence ever in the history of mankind – I am Me.

I chucked it then, cursing my teacher under my breath for this assignment but inwardly, I wondered. Wondered why I couldn’t write on that day, wondered why I faced a wall with everything but nothing, wondered why I couldn’t when I knew so much about myself, when I could give full 5 minute speeches non-stop about myself to my friends. A fresh blank sheet, a full-ink pen, perfect silence, yet, I couldn’t get myself to write. WHY?

Needless to say, after a whole year of wondering, thinking and pondering the question still remains unanswered but my quest to find the answer doesn’t end here. Hopefully, I will find the right answer to this seemingly simple question one day.

However, my initial problem to write about myself, I would say has been partially solved.  Partially, because I ain’t satisfied and probably will never be but anyway, atleast I came up with something! After all, something is better than nothing.

But yeah, from this exercise I learnt something we all know but so many fail to realize its full meaning and impact it has in our lives. Identification. We all possess ID cards, we all know a lot about ourselves, but hey, how many of us have an identification in the real sense. Think, my dear reader, Think hard. What is your identification? Who are you really? And, more importantly, remember to Identify You with Yourself.

And me? Well, am going to get on with life, in other words, tread on the path of self-discovery, and hopefully, someday I will conquer my quest to find the answer to my Why.

5 thoughts on “My Why.

  1. Pingback: A-Z Blogging Challenge 2011 (A-E) Bloggers | I Love to Read | Write | Share Knowledge

  2. HI saw your blog through the newspaper and was inspired to come over and have a look.

    The subjects you write about are really thought provoking.

    This was one blog entry which got me thinking.

    Keep it up…

Leave a Reply

